Author Topic: Blue Sheets & Green Blankets  (Read 4209 times)

Offline Latisha

• Junior Poster
    • View Profile
    • Catcam.tv
Blue Sheets & Green Blankets
« on: November 05, 2002, 03:05:57 AM »
Ever notice how everyone in Collinsport, past and present, all have blue sheets & green blankets?  In the hospital, the old house, Collinwood, the past.  What's with that!
Latisha

Offline Linda

• Full A ed Newest Fervor Post
  • Junior Poster
    • View Profile
    • Dark Shadows Virtual Series
Re: Blue Sheets & Green Blankets
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2002, 04:38:41 AM »
Ever notice how everyone in Collinsport, past and present, all have blue sheets & green blankets?  In the hospital, the old house, Collinwood, the past.  What's with that!
Latisha

I'm not an expert on antique linens, but I'm pretty sure they were white. :)

Cheers,

Linda

Offline kuanyin

• Senior Poster
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2002, 04:49:02 AM »
They go with the blue candles. (And we know how common THEY were in the 18th century.)
"If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly, rather than not at all." G.K. Chesterton

Offline jennifer

• DSF God
  • we'll always love you Don!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2002, 05:44:17 AM »
Big sale at Laceys(no strip malls in Collinsport)

jennifer
we are the champions!!!!
 2007 Boston Red Sox
PAV

Offline dom

• Long Lost Cousin Returned
  • Global Moderator
  • SENIOR ASCENDANT
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2002, 08:11:14 AM »
My theory is that these are remnants of the black and white days of DS. It may have been that white did not film well (too bright) and that they had to use blues to give the illusion of white. The same goes for using different dark hues so that everything didn't look jet black. No proof, just a theory.

For a while during the Adam & Eve story it seemed that very bright yellow was the preferred color for sheets. One practically had to wear sunglasses!

Dom

Offline Cassandra