Author Topic: Idle Thoughts--I'm Not a Doctor, But I Play One on TV! 5/1-5/3  (Read 1220 times)

Offline Luciaphile

• ** Collinsport Commentator **
  • Senior Poster
    • View Profile
Or . . . Enjoy yourself, it's later than you think

Fashion notes first . . .

Holy cats!  Liz's dress is bright--and that bow, yeesh.  It's um, exceptionally, large.  I mean, the bows are starting to resemble something that would not have been out of place on Nellie Olsen's head.  This is not a good thing.

Also, very bad makeup days.  Could they put any more eyeliner on Addison Powell?  And why would you put that much rouge on men?  I have seen drag queens that looked more understated.

Didn't Dr. Lang look spiffy with his headpiece?  NOT.  He came in with that reflective thingy and all I could think of was that this man probably walked the length and breadth of the hospital so as to let everyone know that he's the doctor--just in case, there's any doubt (which frankly, there would have to be, because the man just screams "fruitcake" every time he opens his mouth).

Rather liked Julia's suits.  Very attractive and loved the earrings.

Was less than pleased to see the bright enormous yellow/orange thing.  I'm also wondering what kind of toxic fumes would have filled the room if someone had set that thing on fire.  

Onto the shows . . .

First, I just have to say that I have seldom laughed more.  These are not good episodes, critically speaking.  No way, no how.  The writing was godawful.  I noticed that the last two episodes were without screen credits for writing or directing--now we know why.  Not that surprised to find out that Sam Hall and Gordon Russell wrote them, but Lela Swift . . . she's usually so much better.  What was with the larger than life, hammy, over the top performances?  They weren't on stage--couldn't she have toned the actors down?