Author Topic: Roger Davis's Characters  (Read 1270 times)

Offline keasus

• I love DS!
    • View Profile
Roger Davis's Characters
« on: September 10, 2002, 09:08:23 PM »
Even though I haven't posted here in a while, I have been lurking.   I've wanted to unleash a tirade about the Jeff Clarke character, whom I detested the first time I saw him in 1968, but others have posted more eloquently (and hilariously) on the subject than I could ever hope.

Since the subsequent  characters Roger Davis portrays are basically variations on the same irritating theme, was there ever a fan backlash backlash any time one of his new characters appeared, or were viewers more tolerant back then?

KEASUS, feeling older and cranky but glad to be back

Offline CD_Tate

• Junior Poster
  • I'm soooo artistic.
    • View Profile
    • Pix:
Re: Roger Davis's Characters
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2002, 01:07:37 AM »
I get the impression--but then, I'm still a newbie here--that the general distaste held for RD's characters has as much (or more) to do with offscreen things than onscreen.  Particularly his demeaner at one or two specific conventions, and the fact that other castmembers have broadly hinted at friction on the set.  

Try as I might, I can't see anything in the show itself that would lead people to think of him as annoying--his quirks are no weirder than those of the rest of the cast...  Almost everyone has some silly habit or another.  As a whole, I find them endearing.

Not to say that I'm any special fan.  (I chose the name  CD Tate here thinking it would be a reasonably obscure reference, not realizing that it would brand me for life in the forum.  Let's just say I'll be glad when he's gone too, so I won't need to keep hearing the tirades every day...)